Why I Titled My NaNoWriMo 2016 Novel “Clemency”

“Clemency is also a revolutionary measure.” -Camille Desmoulins.

This year, for NaNoWriMo, I have decided to write a historical fiction novel and titled it Clemency. Well, actually, it didn’t quite happen just like that.

Originally, I had wanted to title it A Revolutionary Measure, taken from the quote above, taken from Camille Desmoulins (who is, actually a character who will be appearing in my novel). Several people asked me what I meant by “a revolutionary measure” and so I decided that I probably should change it.

Somewhere along the line, the title Clemency came up and I actually quite liked it. Now, people wonder if my main character’s name is Clemency… which, it’s not, but I think it’s better than having people be confused.

Leave a Reply

