Transformation | Writing Style

via Daily Prompt: Transformation

I wrote my first fleshed out story in Kindergarten. It was about dinosaurs and all of the things that they do in day to day life. Needless to say, the plot was lacking and my ideas jumped around a lot. Luckily enough for me, my writing style has transformed, if you will, to something more… readable and enjoyable.

Writing styles vary from person to person. I don’t write the same as Ray Bradbury did, nor did he write like Nathaniel Hawthorne. And let me tell you this: there’s nothing wrong with that! The fact that writing styles are individual and unique is what makes reading from all sorts of authors so fun! Imagine if every book you read had the same writing style. Think about how dull that would be!

However, writing styles do not only vary from person to person, they vary throughout the person’s lifetime. Like I said before, the way that I wrote in kindergarten is not the same way that I write now. How I write now is different from how I wrote a year ago, even! Writing style is individual, not just to the person, but in accordance with what’s going on in their life and who they are at that point.

Allow yourself to transform. There’s nothing wrong with it. In fact, you’ll probably find that you’ve changed for the better.

Leave a Reply

