NaNoWriMo 2016 | Pre-NaNo / Letter to Mid/Post-NaNo Self

It’s October 31, 3:14 P.M. as I write this. And that means a few things:

  • It’s almost time for trick-or-treating.

And more importantly…

  • NaNoWriMo is about to start in a little less than nine hours.

This year, I want to blog about my NaNo experience day-by-day, starting right now.

Right now, on October 31, I’m itching to get working on my novel and have been sorting through my notes all day long, wanting to just grab my laptop and start working. Alas, the clock doesn’t tick that fast.

So I’m blogging instead. But I wanted to write a letter both to my Mid-NaNo and Post-NaNo self. Mid-NaNo for when I’m feeling discouraged and Post-Nano for when I need to take a break and celebrate (hopefully) reaching my word count.

Dear Mid-NaNo Me,

You’re probably wondering why you decided to do this again in the first place. But you like to write. Don’t forget that. Even if things are getting insane, you have to remember that you decided to do this because you love to write and you have a story that you’re just itching to tell. 

It’s easy to understand why you’re discouraged. 50,000 words is a lot–especially for a month’s word count–but you can do it. Remember, there are many, many others out there who are going through the same thing. You’re going to be fine.

Keep writing. You’ll feel better in a few minutes… probably. If not in a few minutes, a few hours.

Sincerely,

Pre-NaNo You

Dear Post-NaNo Me,

YOU DID IT!!! …Or at least, you were supposed to… but if you didn’t that’s okay too. You still wrote a lot of words–more than you would have written otherwise. 

Even if you didn’t make it to 50,000 (hopefully you did), you still wrote a lot. So be happy about it. Finish Clemency. Tell Danaé’s story. Then tear it to shreds while you’re editing it to make it the best that it can possibly be.

Sincerely,

Pre-NaNo You

Leave a Reply

