Bludgeon | Tackling the NaNo Beast

via Daily Prompt: Bludgeon

So, it’s the second day of November which means one thing to us NaNoWriMo participants: it’s day two of NaNoWriMo and we should be 3,336 words closer to 50,000 by the end of today.

I’d say that so far, my NaNoWriMo 2016 is off to a good start. I’ve written 9,051 words as of the moment that I’m writing this (and hopefully will be adding more by the end of today). At this point, I’m having a lot of fun and I’m just writing because I’m invested in my story and I’m just having a blast. Honestly, NaNo is giving me the first good reason (other than “It’s what I love to do!”) as to why I’m writing all the time that I’ve had in a long time.

Some of my fellow writers in my writing circle have been getting a little more stressed. Which is understandable. 50,000 is a large number and we’ve got 30 days. 30 days. That’s pretty drop-dead crazy if you ask me. But we’re writers and we like crazy. But NaNo can be hard to balance with school, work, and other things that you might have to do in your day-to-day life. So how do you tackle the NaNo Beast? I’ve got a few suggestions for you:

  • Check out the “NaNoWriMo Ate My Soul” Forum. Talking to other writers who are having similar troubles or are just there to give support can be a great way to help propel you forward.
  • Talk to your writing buddies. These writing buddies can be online buddies or they can be buddies that you know in person. Writing buddies are the best because they know all of the exact things you’re going through and they will be there to help you. Maybe they can even give you some advice on how to push through.
  • Take a break. I know, I know. You’re stressed out about the word count. Just take a few minutes to breathe and do something that’s not writing. It’s only natural to get stressed out about things and sometimes you just need to take a step back and breathe a little. And that’s okay.
  • Get back to writing. Remember, it’s okay to let yourself write badly. This is a rough draft that you’re writing (in most cases). Focus on getting the story down. You can make the writing better during revisions.
Leave a Reply

