Unpopular Opinions | Book Tag

*The usual disclaimers for this tag: I don’t mean to offend anyone. These are merely my opinions.

1. A popular book or series you didn’t like 

I really couldn’t get into The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. I don’t know why… probably because I didn’t like most of the characters.

2. A book series that everyone hates but you love  

I don’t think that “hate” is the right word for this series (nor is “love”), but the Burn for Burn series by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian is the closest series that I can think of. It’s definitely a flawed series, but I did like it more than a lot of other people, I think. It was an addictive read.

3. A love triangle where the MC ends up with the person you didn’t want them to end up with 
Whew… there are a lot of potential answers for this. But Roomies by Lindy Zart qualifies. In general, I didn’t like this book. At all. But the way that the love triangle ended up made me dislike it even more. I just didn’t feel like the way that it ended made any sense whatsoever.
 

4. A popular book genre you rarely reach for

Sci-Fi? I don’t usually read Sci-Fi and Dystopian. It’s not that I dislike the genres–when I read them, I generally like them a lot, actually. I just don’t usually reach for them.

5. A popular beloved character you didn’t like

Jamie Fraser and Claire Randall from Outlander. It’s not that I dislike the series–I like it quite a bit, actually. I just don’t like Claire and Jamie. Not really sure why.
 

6. A popular author you can’t seem to get into 

Susanne Collins.
 

7. Popular trope you’re tired of seeing

I can’t think of many popular tropes that I dislike. However, I know an unpopular one that I’m okay with: instalove. Yeah… I know. Now, this isn’t to say that I’m okay with it in general. I just think that, if done right it can be okay.
 

8. Popular series you have no interest in reading 

The Hunger Games. I watched the movies and I liked them, but I never could get into the first book for whatever reason. I think that the idea of the books is interesting, but I just didn’t connect with Susanne Collins’s writing.

9. The saying goes, “The book is always better than the movie,” but what movie do you prefer more than the book? 
The Wizard of Oz. I don’t really know why. I just liked the visuals that the movie provided, I guess!
Leave a Reply

