Disney Book Tag | Book Tag

This book tag was created by Katytastic on YouTube. Her video is linked here.

1.The Little Mermaid – a character who is out of their element, a “fish out of water”

Whew… I’d say Basil Hallward from The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. This book is full of many, many… er… morally gray people(?) and I’d say that Basil is one of the only ones who could probably be classified as “good”.

2. Cinderella – a character who goes through a major transformation

Lia Milthorpe from The Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy. This was definitely more of an emotional growth. She definitely grew up throughout the story and I really loved that transformation. That might have been my favorite part.

3. Snow White – a book with an eclectic cast of characters

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly. I don’t really know how to explain this other than by saying: “Read the book”. It’s definitely worth it.

4. Sleeping Beauty – a book that put you to sleep

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. While this book is one of my favorites, I did fall asleep while reading it. That being said, I definitely recommend it!

5. The Lion King – a character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood

Er… umm… I don’t know… er… practically every character ever in YA? But I don’t think that that’s a fair answer. So I’ll go with Jane Eyre. I know. I said YA, but… apparently Classics have been the trend of this book tag so far. Jane goes through a pretty loveless childhood and I definitely think that that can count as traumatic.

6. Beauty and the Beast – A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful

I’m going to say Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I am currently reading this book, but I’m already falling in love with the story.

7. Aladdin – a character who gets their wish granted, for better or worse

Whew… I don’t know… again, almost every character ever. But… I’d say the one that’s sticking out to me at the moment is probably Phoebe Bigelow in Fire By Night by Lynn Austen. I can’t really explain this because well… spoilers.

8. Mulan – a character who pretends to be someone or something they are not

Les Misérables. Éponine definitely pretended to be someone that she wasn’t throughout the book. I’d like to say that little Éponine fell prey to her mother and father’s encouragement for cruelty towards Cosette, but I can’t truly say that. The most clear instance of this, I think, is definitely when she disguises herself as a boy at the barricades.

9. Toy Story – a book with characters you wish would come to life

Pretty much all of my favorite books. Can I make a list? Probably not, but I’m going to do it anyways.

  • Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  • Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
  • A Place of Greater Safety by Hilary Mantel

10. Disney Descendants – your favorite villain or morally ambiguous character

Dorian Gray. He’s a great character… but perhaps not morally.

One thought on “Disney Book Tag | Book Tag

Leave a Reply

