November 10 | Book Haul

I did another book haul post on the seventh. If you want to look at that as well, I will link that here. There will also be a cumulative book haul on Monday of next week.

Today, I bought three books:

  • The Social Contract by Jean-Jacques Rousseau.
    rousseau

    Jean-Jacques Rousseau

    • Above all, this book is going to be very useful to me in my writing of my current manuscript. I am also writing a paper for school on the French Revolution so it will be very useful for that. The Social Contract is a philosophical book written by the Francophone Genevan philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau.
      My main character in Clemency, Danaé Thayer, is in love with the book and I felt that it was only right to have a copy that I could refer to at any moment.
  • The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory.220px-other_boleyn_girl
    • A historical fiction novel, The Other Boleyn
      Girl 
      talks about the history of Anne Boleyn and her sister Mary. I’ve always liked historical fiction and I decided that it was about time that I gave Philippa Gregory a chance. Having seen the movie adaption already, I know that the story intrigues me. Now it’s just time to read the book. And I’m definitely very excited to read it. I’ve always had an interest in the Tudor history of England and so I’m holding high hopes for this book!
    • Meridon by Philippa Gregory. This book was a very good price so I thought that I would pick it up! I found out, however, that this book is the last in a series (unfortunately I didn’t have my Goodreads available while I was at the large_3b27878142293dc2fb03955b4f0e171cbookstore), but I’m looking forward to reading it all the same. If possible, I will be trying to get hold of the first two books before reading this one, so it may be sitting in a bit of an uncertain place on my TBR for a little while.
Leave a Reply

