Book Haul | November 2016

I have put the links to the Goodreads pages for each of the books!

  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I read this book immediately after buying it and rated it 4 stars on Goodreads. This book really began to be interesting to me after the first 200 pages or so. The story is amazing and I definitely loved the format. There were, in my opinion, some drawbacks to the format used, one being that the characters seemed detached to me (perhaps that was just me). I definitely enjoyed the story though and I would 100% recommend it!
  • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel. I have yet to read this book but I’m planning to read it after I finish the book that I am currently reading. I have read Hilary Mantel’s book A Place of Greater Safety and I absolutely loved it. Many people on Goodreads have told me that Wolf Hall is much more enjoyable and if that’s the case I am definitely going to love this book. This book, along with another that I bought this month, deals with the Tudors. I love history but I’ve never been particularly interested in English history though I have always loved to learn about the Tudor era so I am definitely looking forward to seeing what this book might have to offer.
  • The Social Contract by Jean-Jacques Rousseau. This book is mostly for school and for the novel that I’m writing. The novel that I am writing is called Clemency and it takes place during the years of 1789-1794 in revolutionary France. The main character, Danaé Thayer is a journalist and she loves Jean-Jacques Rousseau. I figured that it was a book that I wouldn’t mind buying and it was really cheap at the book store so I decided that I would buy it! The Social Contract is a book written by the philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau and mostly lays out his idea of an ideal government.
  • The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory. This is the other book which deals with the Tudors that I have purchased. I’ve seen the movie adaption of this book and I thought that it was quite interesting so I wanted to pick it up when I saw it at the store. Though I love historical fiction, I have actually never read a Philippa Gregory book and so I decided that I would start with this one. I know that in the historical fiction community Philippa Gregory is a little bit controversial. There are some people who really love her and there are some people who just say “Eh”. So I decided that it was high time that I made up my own mind on the topic.
  • Meridon by Philippa Gregory. Stupidly enough I picked up the third book in a trilogy that I haven’t read the first two books of. Maybe it’s the sort of book that you can read without having to have read the first two but… I don’t know. I guess that I’ll find out!
  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. I’ve been looking for this book all over the place but I was never able to find a decently priced copy. Yesterday when I was actually not particularly looking for this book, I just found myself staring at the spine and I quickly grabbed it before anyone else could. I’m currently reading it and I have been warned that I should have a box of tissues on hand while reading it. I’ll admit that I haven’t gotten very far into it yet because I started it last night but so far I love the writing style and I can’t wait to see how the story unfolds!
  • Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. This book was kind of an impulsive buy. I saw it on the shelf in the book store, it was a good price, I thought that the title sounded interesting, and I bought it. When I got home I began to do a little bit of research and surprisingly this book sounds exactly like something that I’d be interested in reading so I’m definitely excited to see what I’m going to think of it!
Leave a Reply

