Sacred | Writing Time

via Daily Prompt: Sacred

NaNoWriMo 2016 is done and I think that most of us can agree that whether or not we reached the 50,000 mark we got a lot of writing done and really, that’s the whole point of NaNoWriMo. To write more than you usually would.

But outside of NaNo, how does one keep themselves writing?

A lot of what is so motivating about NaNo is that there is a goal and there are rewards for reaching that goal. What I am suggesting is that you set goals for yourself all year round. These can be quarterly goals, monthly goals, or whatever you want. But set a goal and reward yourself if you reach that goal.

For example, say I wanted to write 250,000 words this quarter minimum and I reached that, maybe I’d treat myself out to a movie that I’ve been wanting to see or something like that. These rewards that you give yourself don’t have to be big things. But rewarding yourself is a good incentive to start writing.

If you’re like me, you get distracted while you’re trying to write. That’s me whenever I sit down at my laptop. I started working on this post hours ago and I’m just now actually writing it because I got distracted by my music and YouTube. And I really should be editing Clemency right now, but I’m not. I’ll get to it later… eventually. But no matter how distracted I get I always try to get a set amount of writing time in daily. Usually I try to write for an hour and a half on most days. And it doesn’t have to be done all at once. It can be done in chunks.

How do you manage your writing time?

Leave a Reply

