My Favorite Ray Bradbury Quotes

via Daily Prompt: Protest

This is a very loose connection to the prompt. My logic here is that Bradbury wrote Fahrenheit 451 in protest of censorship and people turning to television instead of truly living their lives. So, that’s the protest connection. Now, onto the quotes…

The answer to all writing, to any career for that matter, is love.

Bradbury has a lot of wonderful quotes about love and this is only the first of the many that I will probably have on this list. I think that it’s really important to love what you do and that this is, in general really good advice. If you love what you’re working on, you’re more than likely to succeed.

If an idea isn’t exciting, you shouldn’t do it.

Again, do what you love. I know that I just naturally discard drafts that I lose interest in. Maybe I’ll keep them just in case I want to come back to them some day, but if I’m not excited by the idea of a story that I’m writing, I usually decide to scrap it. Because, if even I, the writer am not excited by the idea, who else will be?

I don’t control my writing – it controls me.

I think that this piece of advice is really, really, really important. Some people try to control and constrict their writing so much that it’s not free; it’s not natural. So let that writing be natural. There is a special thing in voice.

You can write a short story in two hours. Two hours a day, you have a novel in a year.

I think that this really speaks to all of us who have just finished NaNoWriMo 2016. We wrote for who knows how many hours each day and got a novel done in a month. And even still, even if NaNo was too much of a mountain to climb, two hours a day and you can have a novel in a year. I don’t know. It’s just something that really motivates me.

We’re all dreamers.

This is a really simple one, but dream, guys! Dreaming is a good thing and it helps with writing. Believe me, it does.

There’s no one way to be creative. Any old way will work.

In class today, we all had a round-robin, reading one line that we were really proud of and one of my classmates read something that really reminded me of this quote. It’s important to remember that creativity comes in all different shapes and sizes and that you have to be creative in your creativity.

…always think they know more than you do – and they don’t. They have prejudices. They may like Henry James, but what if you don’t want to write like Henry James? They may like John Irving, for instance, who’s the bore of all time.

This just speaks to the fact that you should write like you and, even when someone else says that they don’t like the way that you wrote something, if you know that you wrote it the only way that that line should have been written, just smile and thank them for their opinion, but keep it the same. It’s your work. Listen to what other people think of it, but you make the final call. Write how you want to write.

Love. Fall in love and stay in love. Write only what you love, and love what you write. The key word is love. You have to get up in the morning and write something you love, something to live for.

I think that this is the last one for today. But this might be my favorite one because it’s so true. I know that when I write something I just don’t care about, the work is sloppy and it’s lame. Other people might like it, but if I don’t like what I wrote, what was the point? When I write something that I love, I’m so much happier and it doesn’t even matter what people think of it.

Leave a Reply

