Abide | Committing to Your Work

via Daily Prompt: Abide

Personally, I know that I always have a tendency to be writing 4-5 different things at once. Sometimes it’s just sheer boredom of the other projects. Maybe it’s just that I had a brilliant idea that I didn’t want to forget about. To be completely honest, I think that this NaNoWriMo was the first time in my writing career in which I really committed to one project and didn’t so much as think about writing something else.

I don’t know if it was just that I was really in love with the idea of Clemency or if I just was under such a rigorous schedule that I didn’t have the time to be thinking about other projects, but it was relieving to just be working on one thing. And when I finished it, it was one of the most fulfilling feelings in my entire life.

Commitment is hard when it comes to writing, especially when you’re writing a longer piece. Sometimes you just want a breath of fresh air and you want to write something else for a little while. The problem with this, though, is that you start that new project and then sometimes you just forget about the old one until you’re looking through your files and you remember that project. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, though. Sometimes it’s a good thing to take a break from a project and come back to it later.

Leave a Reply

