Maddening | Drafts You Just All-In-All Dislike

via Daily Prompt: Maddening

This week, I wrote a poem about my favorite place. A place that I’ve never been, but a place that I really, really, really want to go: Berlin, Germany.

And I hated it. I hated every single word I wrote. I hated every sentence. And maybe it wouldn’t have been so bad had it not been for my great love for Berlin. But I refused to read it. And I still won’t.

But, after my initial anger at the overall failure of words to come to me, I remembered that I had to be kind to myself. And so I took a deep breath, closed my eyes and looked at the poem again. I still hated it. But I found something that I liked and I’m going to work off of.

It’s really disappointing and maddening when a draft that you were really excited about writing ends up being one of the worst things that you ever wrote. But, in the end, you have to take a deep breath and remember to be kind to yourself. Look back over it and see if you can save anything. And I can promise you that 9 times out of 10 there will be something–maybe just one line (but that’s enough, I promise you)–that you want to save.

Remember to be kind to yourself, everyone!

Leave a Reply

