WIP Tag | ANIKA KÖHLER

1) What is the working title of your book?

  • Currently, my manuscript is simply called Anika Köhler which is the main character’s name. This is subject to change but I quite like it and people in my writing group have quite liked it, so who knows?

2) Where did the idea come from for your book?

  • Several places. The base for my idea came from a short story that I wrote called “Anika Köhler” and I discovered that I quite liked the idea. From there, I thought of writing about the adventures Anika went on in more detail because this story was only a page long. I pull a lot of inspiration from Hans Christian Anderson’s fairytales and all sorts of other fairytales. My aunt was the inspiration for Anika’s character and an entire subplot of the story.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

  • I’d say it’s a middlegrade fantasy.

4) Which actors would you choose to play in your movie rendition?

This is a pretty tough question for me to answer because my main character, Anika is quite young and I’m not too familiar with many child actors. But I’ll do my best! Also, because my book takes place in Germany, I think that it would be cool to have a cast of mainly German actors or maybe even have the film be originally created in German.

  • For young Anika, I think that McKenna Grace would be great. Because, throughout the novel, we see Anika growing up, I think that a little bit older Anika could be played by Morgan Lily.
  • Laura Köhler, Anika’s mother, I think could be played by Nora Tschirner, a German actress.
  • Julianne Köhler would be perfect for Anika’s grandmother, Elisabeth Köhler. Incidentally, they also have the same last name!
  • Anika’s father, Lukas Köhler could be played by Michael Fassbender. People who know me also know that I would be completely fine with Mark Seibert playing Lukas as well.

5) What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

  • Anika Köhler has been blind since birth and lives and sees through her grandmother’s stories in a world of fantasy.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

  • Ideally, I’d love for this to be represented by an agency. But in the end, self-publishing seems more likely and I’d be completely fine with that.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

  • I’m still working on it! I’ll probably get a good chunk of it written during NaNoWriMo 2017 because I’m technically still in the planning stages of writing Anika Köhler.

8) What other books would you compare this story to?

  • I suppose that it’s kind of like The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards in concept… except not really.

9) Who or what inspired you to write the book?

  • My aunt was a big inspiration to me. She’s deaf and she always is telling me about how she has learned to hear with her eyes because her ears cannot do the hearing for her. This kind of is a big part of the story of Anika Köhler because Anika’s journey is largely about her seeing through hearing and feeling things.

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

  • I think that it’s going to be a really touching story. At least, that’s my hope. I think that the characters are interesting and loveable and I hope that my novel becomes a good story that people can enjoy for years to come.

***

I hope that everyone has a good Christmas!

Leave a Reply

