Coming Up With Ideas For Your Writing?

I know that, for me personally, the writing is the easy part of well… writing. It’s the initial creativity that has to happen that I usually struggle with. It’s hard to find that perfect idea for a novel.

And then sometimes it just hits you.

2016 was a year of creative block for me. Well, at the beginning it was. Towards the end, I was getting ideas all over the place. But it can be really frustrating when you know that you want to write but you just don’t know what to write.

My tip for coming up with new ideas?

Writing every single day. Yeah, I know. It sounds insane. But write a page every day. Ramblings, short stories, anything. You may think that these things have no potential. Set them aside for a little while and come back to them. You might find something that you can expand into something more. That’s how it worked for me and the novel that I’m currently writing. It started with a piece of writing that was barely a page long and one night, while I was trying to fall asleep, I had one of those eureka moments.

Sounds fake, I know. But that’s how it happened.

And sometimes the best ideas can come from stories that other people tell you happened in real life. I was talking with some of my uncles last night over Christmas dinner about a horrible camping trip that they went on years ago. And seriously, I want to write a novel about a trip like that now. Because it’d make a hilarious story. Maybe not even to publish it, but just for the sake of writing it.

There are, of course, a lot of ways to come up with ideas. These are just two of the ways that have really worked for me in my experience of trying them out.

4 thoughts on “Coming Up With Ideas For Your Writing?

  1. For my blog, I try to blog everyday, but sometimes it is hard to know what to blog about. Sometimes when I catch a good quote in a store or anywhere else, I write it down to maybe make a blog post of it later. My high school english once taught me something about an easy tip to writing, which he calls dump trucking, which basically means just write without thinking about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m also trying to get myself to write a little bit every day, but I don’t force myself if I feel ill or really don’t want to… I’m trying to keep it fun while also pushing myself to write more than I currently am. I think keeping a healthy balance between productivity and not finding it a chore is ideal!

    Like

    • That’s definitely true and a wonderful idea! For me, I always want to write but a lot of the time I just don’t know what so I write something–anything–very day. And a lot of the times it’s not even good, but… I try. I think that trying to keep it fun is a really good idea! If you keep it fun, eventually, the writing more will just happen naturally!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

