A Writer’s Life For Me TAG

The original video tag was created by Sara Crawford on YouTube.

1. What kind of writer are you?

I’m the kind of writer who plans a little but then stops because I’m just too excited to start writing.

2. When did you start writing? What made you want to try it?

I started writing when I was in first grade. Of course, it wasn’t serious, serious writing. Just really short stories that popped up in my mind. I always liked to read and so I guess that I thought that writing would be fun too.

3. What inspires your stories?

People, events, and family.

4. What themes do you like to explore in your writing?

Resiliency and fighting for what’s right as well as the importance of friendship and having faith in a cause.

5. Are you a pantster or a plotter or a bit of both?

A little bit of both but definitely stronger on the pantser side, I’m not going to lie.

6. Where are you at in your journey? Querying, agented, published?

Well, that depends. Clemency is well on its way towards being published, I think. But I don’t want it to be represented by an agency. I’m still having people read it and tell me what they think of it. For Anika Köhler, I wouldn’t mind having it represented by an agency. I also just think that it would be better suited for traditional publishing than Clemency. I’m still only in the early writing stages of Anika Köhler.

7. Have you ever entered any writing contests? Finaled? Won?

Does NaNoWriMo count? If it does, then yes. And I did win this year so that was exciting!

8. Who are your writer heroes?

I’ve always really looked up to Ray Bradbury’s style. I think that he has one of the most beautiful styles that I’ve ever read and I absolutely adore that about his writing. People like Edgar Allen Poe and Charles Dickens could also definitely fit under this.

9. Have you been to a writing conference? Share your best or worst conference experience.

No, I haven’t been to a writing conference though I think that that could be really fun and interesting!

10. Top 3 tips you’d give to newbie writers?

I’m not sure that I’m the most qualified person to be giving advice, but here we go anyways:

  • Be kind to yourself.
  • Write every day but try to make it so that you’re not forcing yourself to do so.
  • Write the story that you want to tell not the story that everyone else wants you to tell.
Leave a Reply

