THE DARKEST HOUR by Caroline Tung Richmond | Book Talk

It seems like so long since I did my last book talk but here we are with this one. I read two books last week as well so I will be doing book talks for those soon. BUT THIS BOOK. It’s not my favorite of the three that I have read in the past two weeks but at this point, it’s a good second.

SPOILER FREE STUFF

Guys, this book is amazing. I kid you not, I flew through this book in two days (technically three but I didn’t get to read on one of those days).

The book takes place during World War II in France. Lucienne Blaise is an agent-in-training at Covert Ops. an organization that is aiding the Resistance. Throughout the book, Lucie and her friends, Sabine and Tilly try to figure out what the Nazis are hiding and they must try to stop them.

That was a horrible synopsis. But it was the best that I could do without giving something away. Believe me, there is so much to say about this book. I was fighting off the tears towards the end of this book.

Perhaps one of my favorite things about this book is that it is based off of real events and people. The central characters in the book are fictional but they are highly based off of real WWII resistance fighters. Maybe it was just me, but I didn’t have any idea that events anywhere close to mirroring the events in this book happened. And this is coming from a history geek here. Maybe they just don’t teach it where I’m from. If you’ve read the book, did you know that events like the ones in the book happened? I’m aware that the events wouldn’t have been exactly similar, but from what I gathered from my research just a few hours ago, the book does mirror a lot of things.

Ultimately I gave this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. I can’t say why I doffed that .5 here because it’s kinda spoilery so come back when you’re finished reading the book and read the spoiler section if you’re interested in knowing.

But I think that’s all that I can say about the book without spoiling stuff so… onto the spoilers.

SPOILERS AHEAD

This book was great. But it was largely predictable at times. At least, for me it was. I’m usually really bad at detecting twists but this time I just saw all of them coming. Maybe they weren’t meant to be really big shockers and I just misinterpreted the author’s motives. But I was really not shocked at all. And that isn’t the first time that that’s happened in this month. Either my twist detecting skills are getting better, my inner skeptic is growing, or the twists were poorly done. The predictability of the twists was what ultimately made me take off that .5 star from my rating because I feel like not knowing is something that would just have made this book so much better, you know? Another thing that contributed to the .5 knock from the final rating was that I felt like we got so much information about Lucie’s family that we thought might come into play later on and become important but just never did. Believe me, neither of these two things alone would have been enough to make me knock off a .5 star, but together they annoyed me just barely enough to make me take off that .5. But I still loved this book despite those two things.

All in all, though, I loved this book. Lucie, Sabine, and Tilly were great characters. Sabine was probably my favorite of the three because she was so… human, I guess. Human in that she did what she felt was necessary and then, realizing that she was wrong, she tried to redeem herself. I don’t know. Something about that felt realistic to me. Lucie was the character that I found to be the most unrealistically written, but let’s face it: since when has a protagonist been written 100% believably? I’m guilty of that in my own writing.

***

I think that that’s all for spoilers, but I would definitely recommend this book! You can find me on Goodreads here.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it? I’d love to know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

