SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE by Morgan Matson | Book Talk

SPOILER FREE STUFF

Guys, guys, guys!!!! I did it! And goodness’s sakes, it was good. I need more Morgan Matson ASAP.

Summer is usually seen as the time for reading contemporaries, but I saw this book at the Half Price Books and I didn’t know when I might see it next so I grabbed it. And I’m so glad that I did. It was kind of odd reading a book that took place in summer while it’s cold and rainy in Seattle, but really, it was a nice read for Winter Break.

Since You’ve Been Gone is the story of a girl who has to learn to step out of her comfort zone. And, in all honesty, I could connect with this book massively. A year ago, a friend of mine switched schools (we still keep in touch but not as much as we used to) but she was always the more outgoing of the two of us. Because of my personal experiences with this sort of thing, I could feel the plot as really relatable.

This book just made me laugh out loud at points and it’s been a while since I’ve read something like that. Maybe this book has inspired me to be a little more outgoing. We’ll see.

100% recommend and a solid 5 out of 5 stars.

SPOILERS AHEAD

The paperback copy that I had bonus content (no idea if that’s how all of the editions are) and I was reading through it, kind of eager to find out if Dawn and Emily ever became friends again and Morgan Matson said that that’s what she imagines to have happened and that we’ll likely see some of that in her next book. And I’m so, so happy. Because I really want them to be friends again. I just thought that I’d share that in case any of you who’ve finished reading the book wanted to know. 

Who else wants Dawn, Collins, and Emily to be friends again? I know that I do!

One thought on “SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE by Morgan Matson | Book Talk

Leave a Reply

