Getting CLEMENCY Read…

My sister FINALLY finished reading Clemency. A lot of people might see the fact that my own sister took forever to finish reading my book as a bad thing. And usually I would too. But it’s actually not so bad when I consider that she usually doesn’t even finish reading most books. So, I’d like to start off this post by thanking her for going through about a month of reading my book and giving me feedback.

If I’m going to be 100% honest, I was kind of horrified of the idea of letting someone read Clemency, the book that I wrote in a month but still poured my heart into. Maybe they woud hate the characters that I have so grown to love and care for. Maybe the story wouldn’t affect the reader in the intended way.

But all-in-all, I’d say that my endeavor was a success and that my hard work paid off. Because my sister liked it. She loved the characters (especially Isidore and Julien). She hated characters that were meant to be loathe-worthy. She laughed at Julien’s quips and dumb jokes. And perhaps to me the most amazing part: she cried. My sister, the person who notoriously never cries while watching movies cried at the end of Clemency. And I felt as if perhaps my writing isn’t so bad after all.

The moral of the story? Don’t be afraid to have people look over your work. You may find out that you have a talenr for something you didn’t know that you could do well.

Leave a Reply

