2016 Favorites | Bookish Academy Awards TAG

This tag was originally created by BOOKadoodles on YouTube. I’m going to be limiting myself to only the books that I read in 2016 but those aren’t necessarily all 2016 releases. I might be changing some of the questions to make it something that I liked a little more.

  • Best Male Main Character
    • I’m going to have to go with James Easton from The Agency Trilogy. He might be my new all-time favorite protagonist.
  • Best Female Main Character
    • Cath from Fangirl. I know that I’m a bit late to this Rainbow Rowell train but goodness’s sakes guys… I loved Cath.
  • Best Plot Twist
    • Plot twists really weren’t working for me this year. But I’ll go with a few of the twists in The Darkest Hour by Caroline Tung Richmond. I won’t say what they are because of spoilers but you should definitely check the book out!
  • Best Book Cover
    • The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye. Beautiful cover.
  • Best Male Side Character
    • Definitely Camille Desmoulins from A Place of Greater Safety by Hilary Mantel. I know that Camille was a real person but the way that she portrayed him was absolutely amazing.
  • Best Female Side Character
    • I think that I’m going to have to go with Anastasia’s sisters in Anastasia’s Secret by Susanne Dunlap.
  • Most Unique Plot / World
    • I think that for most unique plot I’m definitely going to have to go with Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly. It was absolutely amazing.
  • Best Book-To-Movie Adaptation
    • I didn’t really watch many book-to-movie adaptations for the first time this year. But I did watch Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children which was directed by Tim Burton and I quite liked it. It wasn’t 100% accurate to the book but I still enjoyed it.
  • A Writer You Discovered For the First Time
    • Susanne Dunlap and Rainbow Rowell. I’m so glad that I discovered both of them.
  • Best Action in a Book
    • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. Seriously, at some of the intense moments I felt like the writing was moving fast. It was amazing.
  • Best Music in a Book-To-Movie Adaptation
    • Like I said before, I didn’t watch many book-to-movie adaptations. I did, however watch The Hunger Games trilogy for the first time and I liked the music in Mockingjay Pt.2.
  • Best Novella or Short Book
    • The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury. It’s practically a collection of novellas and it’s absolutely wonderful.
  • Best Stand Alone
    • My Lady Jane. I couldn’t not bring up My Lady Jane in a 2016 favorites post. It was undoubtedly one of my favorite reads of 2016.
  • Best Historical Fiction
    • In the Shadow of the Lamp by Susanne Dunlap or Fire By Night by Lynn Austen.
Leave a Reply

