2016 Book Awards

This tag was created by BOOKadoodles on YouTube. Video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJIikUM8Q4Y&t=677s

· Least Favorite Read

o I think that I’m going to have to go with Lost by Gregory Maguire. I was pretty disappointed by this book because I usually like Gregory Maguire’s books, but this one just didn’t work for me.

· Shortest Read

o Paris in the Revolution: A Collection of Eye Witness Accounts

· Longest Read

o My longest re-read of 2016 was Les Misérables by Victor Hugo.

o My longest new read of 2016 was Voyager by Diana Gabaldon.

· Most Disappointing Ending

o Voyager by Diana Gabaldon. I can’t say why because that’ll be a definite spoiler, but I was honestly so disappointed by this ending. It was all just… meh. This book has pretty much caused me to DNF the rest of the series for now.

· Cliffhanger That Broke Me the Most

o I think that a cliffhanger that I wish we got more out of was from Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. I’ve heard that some of that gets resolved in The Unexpected Everything and so I’m looking forward to reading it.

· Favorite New Series Started

o Definitely, definitely, definitely The Agency trilogy by Y.S. Lee.

· The Most Bizarre Read

o Bizarre… hmm… I don’t think that anything I read this year was exactly… bizarre. I think that I’ll put down my most interesting TBR addition, though, because it was not a book that I thought that I would ever put on my TBR. That would be American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis.

· Best Audiobook Experience

o I can only listen to contemporaries in audiobook because if I listen to a fantasy, I get too lost. I think that my best audiobook experience of this year was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I finally got around to it this year and it made the 12-hour plane ride + wait time on my way back to Seattle so much more bearable.

· Most Unsettling Read

o The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards. That book was just one of the most heartbreaking and well… unsettling books that I’ve ever read.

· Favorite Cast of Characters

o Gonna have to go with the characters from The Agency by Y.S. Lee or maybe the characters from My Lady Jane by Jodi Meadows, Brodi Ashton, and Cynthia Hand. Oh, and the characters from Les Misérables by Victor Hugo. Seriously, how could I forget them?

· Best Thriller

o I only really read one thriller this year and it wasn’t a book that I was extremely impressed by but that book was The Masked Truth by Kelley Armstrong.

· Best Relationship/Friendship

o Phoebe Bigelow and Ted Wilson from Fire by Night without contention. Okay… well… maybe Jane and G from My Lady Jane come pretty close.

· Best Reread

o Les Misérables by Victor Hugo.

Leave a Reply

