We Can All Write That Book That We Want to Write

So, last Friday (or it might’ve been Saturday; it’s all kind of a blur right now), Kim Chance (on YouTube) posted a video called “Writer Confession: The Good, the Bad & the Ugly”. And seriously, I cried right along with her. Because I know exactly what she’s going through. I actually had put off watching this video until today because I’ve been on a writing streak recently. I’ve been editing Clemency: There is No Nation of Gods and even been thinking more about where I want to go with Anika Köhler, the new book that I’m writing (and what might end up being my NaNoWriMo 2017 project). And so, I was worried that watching the video might put me off of writing. But finally, I opened the video today and watched it. And let me tell you, I feel more ready and determined to write than I did yesterday. So, thank you for that Kim. Really, seriously, thank you.

But that’s not exactly what I wanted to talk about. No, I wanted to talk about how we as writers have to stick together. We’re a rare breed, us writers. And a lot of the time non-writers think that we’re crazy. But it’s wonderful how we have this community where we all can talk to each other and just vent about all of our crazy writing problems and successes. We all have days and even months where we feel like we can’t write and that we’re just dreamers. And well… we need to stick with each other through those times. Because those times are tough but we all have them. That’s undeniable, I think.

For me, it took NaNoWriMo to make me see that I can write a book. Because before that, I thought that I was just a writer who wanted so badly to be able to write a book but just couldn’t commit to one idea or actually write a story long enough to be a novel. Well, with the help of NaNoWriMo 2016, I realized that I was wrong. That I can write a book. I mean, I’ve got Clemency: There is No Nation of Gods to show for that. So I know that I can write a book. I know that all of us can write books if we just set our minds to it and get writing. Because that book that you want to write? Well, it’s not going to write itself. So get out there and write it. Because if you don’t to it, either someone else is going to beat you to it or no one will ever get to hear that story that you so wanted to share with the world. And who knows? Maybe someone will never get to read their favorite book if you don’t start writing.

Writing’s hard. I know. It’s so hard. And it’s emotionally draining. But nothing beats that feeling when you stare there at that last period on the last page of your book when you can just sit back and say “Hah! I did it. I wrote this book. And no one can say that I can’t because if they do, I’ve got this manuscript to show them that they’re wrong.” And I’m not kidding. That’s the best feeling in the world. Or at least, for me it was. And is.

Yeah, I haven’t been working on the first draft of Anika Köhler nearly as much as I should. But I will. Goodness’s sakes! I will! I’ll do it if it’s the last thing that I do. I promise. I promise, I promise, I promise. I will get it written and I will publish it. Maybe it’ll get picked up by a publisher. But if not, I will get out there and publish it myself. You know, that’s probably the thing that spoke to me most in Kim’s video and what made me cry right along with her. Because I’m almost in the same situation as she is. Finished with one book and now having this idea for a next one but just not doing it. And that ends now. I’ll get my notebook, open up a word document, and get writing. Because that’s what I need to do. It’s what I want to do.

And for those of you who are doubting yourselves out there, it’s okay. We all have those days. But believe me, you can write that book. Believe me, you can. And if someone tries to tell you otherwise, just finish that manuscript and prove them wrong. Because believe me, when they walk into a bookstore or are just browsing Amazon and see your book they will remember what they said and they will see how wrong they were.

Kim’s Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lm_48jyHfbc 

Leave a Reply

