THE NIGHT CIRCUS by Erin Morgenstern Review | BOOK TALK

(Very, very light (not even really spoilery) spoilers for this book if you’ve read The Game of Love and Death and/or The Crown’s Game and very, very light (not even really spoilery) spoilers for if you’ve read this book and plan on reading The Game of Love and Death and/or The Crown’s Game.)

4/5 stars

Okay, so this was the sort of book that I stayed up until 3 AM to finish reading. Yep. It’s actually been quite a long time since I’ve done that.

Now, it isn’t that this book is the best book that I’ve ever read. But it is definitely addicting and the premise is amazing. So what was the problem?

The problem was that I’d read too many books like this one already and it was well… pretty predictable to me from the moment that “the game” was introduced. As far as I know, The Night Circus might actually have been the first of these books that was published but its one of the last one that I have read. So it’s not the book’s fault. It’s more of my fault. Books that are similar to this one that I have read include The Game of Love and Death and The Crown’s Game. Despite the similarities though, I think that this book was my favorite of all of them. The setting of the circus is amazing.

Granted, there is such a large cast of characters that sometimes I was grappling for the “Wait… who is this person again?” answer. But in the end, most of the characters are pretty likable.

One thing that I wasn’t too keen on was that the ending was kinda unsatisfying. Just kinda. It’s satisfying but at the same time it’s not. It’s a complicated middle-ground. I guess it depends on what you’re looking for in the book.

But seriously, the setting. I don’t think that I will ever be done talking about the setting. The circus is amazing and it’s definitely the sort of thing that I would go to see if it pulled into my town just for the sake of it. Because it’s awe-inspiring. I haven’t read great setting description like that in a really long time.

I say that this book only gets 4 stars from me. But that’s really just my personal rating based off of reading experience and enjoyment. If I were to rate it more critically, it would be 4.5 or maybe even 5. 

So I recommend this book. I highly recommend this book. But just a warning: if you’ve read The Game of Love and Death and/or The Crown’s Game, this book may be just a little bit too predictable for you and it might diminish your reading experience a little. Just a little. But you’ll like it. I can almost guarantee that you’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

