WIP Tag | Currently Untitled WIP

So, I finally started a new project a few weeks ago. And well, I decided to do the WIP tag because… why not?
1) What is the working title of your book?

•Erm… truthfully? I don’t have a title for it yet. I know… I know… but, help is definitely appreciated! If you’ve got a suggestion for a title, please let me know and I’ll definitely look into them!

2) Where did the idea come from for your book?

•I came up with the idea as I was waking up from a dream, really. It was a weird, weird dream and truthfully, I don’t remember what happened for the most part. All I remember is that the lead actress in a theatre troupe got killed. And that was enough to get me out of bed and running to my laptop to start writing.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

•Probably historical fiction though maybe a little bit of mystery!
4) Which actors would you choose to play in your movie rendition?

•Well… this is tough. So I’m just going to go ahead and talk about my three main characters that I really have a feel for at the moment. Usually, I think about these sorts of things but this time, I’ve not really thought about it… at all. So… this should be interesting!
*Mindy Roth – For Mindy, I think that Shailene Woodley, Amanda Seyfried, or Elizabeth Olsen would be absolutely perfect. I don’t know which I would ultimately go with but I think that if I could pick any actress for Mindy, it’d be one of these three.

*Allen Yates – I’m having a lot of trouble picturing Allen as any actor, really. To me, he’s just… Allen. But if I have to choose? Man… Torrance Coombs? I really, really don’t know.

*Marc Holt – For me, Marc is the easiest one to pinpoint for some reason. And I’ve come to the conclusion that Zachari Levi might just be perfect as Marc.
5) What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

•A playwright and her set/costume designer friend find themselves bailed out of prison by a man who wants to open a travelling theatre, however, as Mindy and Allen work on their play, they realize that their story may be more than just something that Mindy came up with in her mind. (That was a run-on sentence but… that counts, right?)

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

•Probably self-published, but I’d always be happy to give an agency a shot.
7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

•I’m still drafting at the moment, actually! But the target finishing date is sometime before Summer starts!

8) What other books would you compare this story to?

•Hmm… good question. Maybe a bit of These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly? I don’t really know, actually. It’s not something I’ve thought a lot about. In general, I like to kind of avoid thinking about these sorts of things because they can kick me into severe writer’s block because I get to thinking: “Man… has my book already been done before? Oh my goodness! It totally has!” From which point my brain jumps to: “Abandon ship!”

9) Who or what inspired you to write the book?

•Well… largely, my need to write. But also, I’d say that I was inspired a lot by that dream that I had initially. I’m not sure if I really had any other inspiration. Inspiration, for me, doesn’t just come in at the beginning of the writing process but throughout the process.

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

•There’s a touch of romance. Maybe a twinge of creepy scenarios. And, if you like theatre and stuff…
###

So, that’s it for me and my untitled WIP. But… if you have any suggestions for what my book should be called, leave ‘em in the comments! Maybe I’ll be able to use some of them for inspiration!

One thought on “WIP Tag | Currently Untitled WIP

Leave a Reply

