THE GLITTERING COURT by Richelle Mead Non-Spoiler Review | Book Talk

Hallo, leute! Ich hoffe das alles es gut!

Over the past few days, I read The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead. This was my first time reading anything by Ms. Mead and thus, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The plot sounded interesting enough and I thought that I’d give it a try.

Unfortunately, I was horribly disappointed with this book and ended up giving it a 1 star rating on Goodreads—something that I very rarely do. As I scrolled through the ratings and reviews of others who had read the book, I found that I was hardly alone. It wasn’t that this book was atrociously bad. It was just horribly problematic and well, it ended up being a book that I felt I’d wasted my time with.

Why?

As I read, I found myself bored with the romance, bored with the characters and the plot. The book was about two hundred pages too long, I think, and pacing was out of whack. As a reader, there are very few times in which I close the book just to see how many pages are left but throughout the reading of The Glittering Court, I found myself doing it several times.

I won’t talk too much about the romance because well… all of that’s kinda spoilery (although it’s pretty predictable after you’ve read the first 2-3 chapters or so). But all-in-all, the romance seemed to be running in circles and it was one of those romances that was getting me to want to bash my head into the wall. And well, part of that was definitely due to the fact that I didn’t love the characters.

For the most part, The Glittering Court’s characters were pretty bland to me with a few exceptions. When it came to the romance, I felt myself somewhat liking one character and quite despising the other and maybe that was part of what made the romance so frustrating to me.

While I will say that the concept of The Glittering Court is not altogether something that has never been done before, it was fun to read about the girls’ interactions with one another and their learning to be “noble.” It was probably this part of the book that I found the most enjoyable.

This review has been predominantly negative but I would like to bring up one positive of this book: it made me somehow want to—need to, even—keep reading for whatever reason. And well, maybe it was a “Maybe it’ll get better” sort of hopefulness getting hold of me. Unfortunately, though, the book just never did seem to get better and the story just continued to lag on.

As you can probably tell, I did not enjoy The Glittering Court nearly as much as I had hoped that I would. And well… I’m sure that you can deduce that I am not very keen on continuing on with the trilogy. I think I’ve had my fill of this world and these characters. However, as the next books are (supposed to be) written from the perspectives of different characters, maybe I’ll think better of my decision?

What did you think of The Glittering Court? Let me know in the comments!

Danke schön und tschüss!

Leave a Reply

