The First Date Book Tag!

Hallo, leute! Wie geht’s?

So, today, I’m doing the “First Date Book Tag” which was originally created by Katesbookdate on YouTube! Tomorrow, I’ll have a review of Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer up (I loved it!)!

1. The awkward first date – a book where something felt off. It wasn’t a bad book, but lacked that spark for you.

Hmm… I think that would have to be The Glittering Court by Rachelle Mead for me. I don’t by any means, think that it was a bad book but man, it just wasn’t for me. At all. Another book that could fit here would be Just One Day by Gayle Foreman.

2. The cheap first date – book that turned out less than you expected.

Hmm… well… Just One Day by Gayle Foreman would definitely be on here. It just wasn’t nearly as good as I had been hoping and I ended up really just not enjoying it. Another book, though, that would fit here would be The Falconer by Elizabeth May.

3. Well-prepared first date – better than expected.

I’m glad to say that there are a lot of books that can fit here! I’ll admit that I wasn’t too sure about The Children of Hurin when I first picked it up but now it’s my favorite Tolkien book of all time! Hmm… then there’s Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell which I wasn’t sure what to expect from but ended up loving! The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer is definitely on this list! For years I’d put off reading the series because I wasn’t sure if I would like it but I ended up loving it! Other than that, Jackaby by William Ritter could definitely fit on this list! I highly recommend all of these!

4. Hot but dumb – pretty book, not so hot on the inside.

Ah, yes. This book. Well, I’d definitely have to hand this one to A Midsummer Night’s Scream by R.L. Stein. The cover was so beautiful and I couldn’t help but buy it. However, I was immensely disappointed in it…

5. Blind date – book you picked up not knowing anything about it.

Most of my book buys are like this. I generally don’t know much about plots when I buy things but Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly is definitely a book that fit under this category. I knew it was about the French revolution but really, I didn’t know anything beyond that and well… it turned out that the story dealt not so much with the revolution itself as much as the people in it.

6. Speed dating – book you read super fast.

Haha! For this one, I can mention Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer which I just read. I flew through this book and man, I loved it. I’m still thinking about it constantly. Also, the concept of “speed dating” fits very well with this book! However, I must say that Exile for Dreamers by Kathleen Baldwin definitely also fits under this category!

7. The rebound – a book you read too soon after a book hangover and it kind of ruined the book for you.
So, as much as I hate to say it, I feel like the book I’m currently reading (I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak) might be this way. But I sincerely hope that it will not be! At this point, I can’t really think of a book that would fit under this category!

8. Overly enthusiastic date – a book that felt like it was trying too hard.

Hmm… I feel like Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen would fit under this category for me. It just seemed like it was aspiring to be something that it wasn’t and it felt like it was well… trying too hard.

9. The perfect first date – book that did everything right for you.

So, of course I’m going to mention Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer again because seriously, that book was perfect. I’m not even kidding. And then, Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare could also fit here, as well! I also feel like The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson could fit here as well!

10. Humiliating first date – book you’re embarrassed to admit you liked/ embarrassed to see reading in public for whatever reason.

I’m trying to reread the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz but I find that I’m kind of embarrassed to read them in public because they’re considered “children’s books”. Ah, well!

###

And I think that’s it for me! Tomorrow I will have my Friday’s Child review up! Danke und tschüss!

One thought on “The First Date Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

