FRIDAY’S CHILD by Georgette Heyer Spoiler-Free and Spoiler Review!

Hallo, alles! Hope you’re doing well!

A few days ago, I read Friday’s Child by Georgette Heyer and I’ve fallen in love with that book and all of the characters and ah, I don’t think I’ll ever quite get it out of my head (which I am 100% okay with!)! So, today, I’m bringing you my review of it! I will do a spoiler-free review first, and then I will jump into spoilers (because I’m just that in love with this) but of course, I will notify you before I do so!

SPOILER-FREE REVIEW

Definite new favorite! I absolutely loved this book. It’s been a little while since I’ve been so happy whilst reading a book, and it’s been even longer since I’ve been able to sit down after reading a book and be able to do nothing but think about it. But the more I think of it, I can’t help but ache for more from these characters. I can’t help but what more from these characters. I just wish that there were a sequel because I know that I would love it.

This book is very largely character-driven, I think. There are moments in which one will be largely frustrated by the characters and some of their stupidity/naïve actions but overall, I think it’s endearing. Hero, Sherry, Gil, Ferdy, and George are characters that I will continue to love forever and ever.

The plot of this book is pretty simple and, I think that from the beginning of the book, I was expecting it to be so. At first, I thought that this might take away from my enjoyment of the book, but as I was proceeding through it, I found that I didn’t mind it in the slightest.

This book alone has been enough to convince me to buy more of Georgette Heyer’s books–I might even have a new favorite author! The wit that goes into these books, the wonderful dialogue… all of it.

I loved this book so much that I do believe it will be a book that I will reread continuously for the rest of my life! I highly, highly recommend this book! In fact, I couldn’t recommend it more, especially if you enjoy historical fiction! It’s one of the best that I’ve ever read!

The Regency era is one that I’ve been thoroughly interested in for a really long time but I think that, in Georgette Heyer, I’ve finally found my perfect Regency-era author!

SPOILER SECTION

I think that my favorite character in this story was probably Hero—I absolutely adored her. She could be naïve at times, but as Gil mentioned, Hero never makes the same mistake twice. She learn from her mistakes and I think that’s one of the most endearing things about her.

Sherry was a hero that I could very easily like and in some ways, he kind of reminded me of Will Herondale (in an odd sort of way). I loved Sherry so much although sometimes he could be a little harsh. My favorite character moment throughout the whole book was probably the whole part in which Sherry was so horribly affected by Hero’s running away. It made me feel so bad for him, yet at the same time, feel so happy for Hero because I knew that she’d be happy if she found out that he cared for her after all.

And the Sherry x Hero cuteness was so adorable! I simply couldn’t get enough of it! And the ending? Man, it left me wanting so badly for a sequel and it’s a downright shame that there’s not nearly enough fanfiction of the pair online! Ah, well! I can write my own, I suppose! Oh, but they were so cute! Ugh, I simply can’t stop fangirling about it all…

And Gil, Ferdy, and George were some of the best secondary characters I’ve read about in my life! Ah, I loved them to pieces!

One of the real strengths of this piece is the dialogue between the characters and the clear research Mrs. Heyer put into her writing really does make one feel as if they were in the time period. There’s almost something magical about it!

###

I honestly cannot get enough of this book! If you all know of any good fanfictions for this book, please do let me know because I’m not ready to say goodbye to this story and these characters—I love them too much! Also, what Georgette Heyer book should I read next? I’ve been completely sold on her work!

Danke schön und tschüss!

Leave a Reply

